Authors Naomi Shihab Nye and Louise Erdrich Protest in Support of Palestinian Human Rights JACBA Newsletter 15Apr2016

Over 100 Writers Call on PEN American Center to Reject Israeli Government Sponsorship

In a letter made public today over 100 writers, including Naomi Shihab Nye and Louise Erdrich, have called on the PEN American Center “to reject support from the Embassy of Israel” for PEN’s annual World Voices Festival. PEN lists the Israeli Embassy as among the “Champions” of the Festival, and as a sponsor of one of the Festival’s panels.

Full List

Read More

Habibi by Naomi Shihab Nye 1998 Awardee

Sitti’s Secrets by Naomi Shihab Nye 1995 Awardee

The Birchbark House by Louise Erdrich 2000 Awardee

Bookworks and the Albuquerque Public Library Foundation Present ‘A Word With Writers’, 5/26

Bookworks and the Albuquerque Public Library Foundation are collaborating on their fourth installment of their fundraiser literary series, A Word With Writers, May 26, hosting Sherman Alexie on tour for his new children’s picture book, Thunder Boy Jr. (Little, Brown & Co.).

With illustrations from Caldecott Award-winning illustrator, Yuyi Morales, Thunder Boy Jr. is the story of a young boy who must find his own identity despite being named after his father. Morales’ vivid images bring to life Alexie’s endearing prose for a perfect Father’s Day gift for literary fans.

Read More

Harvesting Hope: The Story of Cesar Chavez, written by Kathleen Krull, illustrated by Yuyi Morales 2004 Awardee

Author Naomi Shihab Nye to Visit Guilford College April 13-14

Renowned poet, novelist and internationally-recognized writing workshop leader Naomi Shihab Nye will come to campus for a two-day visit beginning on Wednesday, April 13, as the inaugural Sherwood Anderson Distinguished Visiting Writer at Guilford College.

During her visit, the award-winning writer, anthologist, activist and educator, known for her inspiring presentations and her commitment to “the literature of encouragement,” will be visiting classes and leading writing workshops.

Read More

Habibi by Naomi Shihab Nye 1998 Awardee

Sitti’s Secrets by Naomi Shihab Nye 1995 Awardee

Award winning storyteller Tim Tingle wins 2016 Colleen Salley Storytelling Award

On April 6, 2016, storyteller Tim Tingle received the Coleen Salley Storytelling Award as part of the Fay B. Kaigler Children’s Book Festival at the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg. The award honors “a storyteller whose mission reflects the ideals and dedication to the field that Ms. Salley personified,” according to the University website.

Read More

Crossing Bok Chitto: told in written form by Tim Tingle, illustrated by Jeanne Rorex Bridges 2007 Awardee

Octopus Brains Are So Much Cooler Than You Think

“Their brain is so unlike ours, it’s almost difficult to describe it as a brain,” explains Sy Montgomery, a naturalist and author whose most recent book, The Soul of an Octopus, is a fascinating dive into cephalopod psychology.

Montgomery was interviewed by Inquiring Minds co-host Indre Viskontas; you can listen to the entire conversation below

Read More

Temple Grandin: How the Girl Who Loved Cows Embraced Autism and Changed the World by Sy Montgomery 2013 Awardee

We Came to America by Faith Ringgold | SLJ Review

As Americans wrestle with the moral and legal aspects of immigration, Ringgold offers a reminder of the country’s multifaceted lineage—and of the beauty to be discovered at cultural crossroads.

Read More

Aunt Harriet’s Underground Railroad in the Sky by Faith Ringgold 1993 Awardee

Mitali Perkins to Sign Books at San Francisco Opening of Rickshaw Girl on 4/16

Award-winning Bay Area author Mitali Perkins will sign books at the San Francisco opening of Rickshaw Girl, presented by the Bay Area Children’s Theatre (BACT), Saturday, April 16, at the Children’s Creativity Museum Theater, 221 4th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103. Rickshaw Girl, based on Perkins’s book by the same name, plays weekends, April 16 – May 1.

Read More

Rickshaw Girl by Mitali Perkins,illustrations by Jamie Hogan 2008 Awardee

Since 1953, the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award annually acknowledges
books published in the U.S. during the previous year. Books commended by the
Award address themes of topics that engage children in thinking about peace,
justice, world community and/or equality of the sexes and all races. The books
also must meet conventional standards of literacy and artistic excellence.

A national committee chooses winners and honor books for younger and older

Read more about the 2015 Awards

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *