Before She Was Harriet

Author(s):  Lesa Cline-Ransome

Illustrator:  James E. Ransome

Award(s):  2018, Honor Book for Younger Children

Suggested Ages:  Award Year 2018

Publisher:  Coming soon!

Publish Date:  Coming soon!


Before She Was Harriet, written by Lesa Cline-Ransome, illustrated by James E. Ransome, and published by Holiday House is an Honor Book in the Books for Younger Children category.     Before She Was Harriet by Lesa Cline-Ransome, illustrated by James Ransome, and published by Holiday House, chronicles the steadfast courage of Harriet Tubman in a cumulative biographical poem that travels both backwards and forwards through her life. Before she was Harriet Tubman, she went by several other names—General Tubman, Aunt Harriet, Moses, Minty, and Araminta—and took on many roles— liberator, suffragist, union spy, nurse, and, her most well known, conductor on the Underground Railroad. Judicious repetition, eloquent phrasing, and evocative imagery bring a scriptural tone to the text, underscoring the sacred nature of Harriet Tubman's work. Luminous illustrations reveal Tubman’s changing emotions and growing conviction from childhood to old age, bringing to life a woman who championed justice with every bone of her body.

Key Character Identities:  Award Year 2018

Historical Characters:  Award Year 2018

Social Justice Issues:  Award Year 2018

Themes:  Award Year 2018

No Comments