Edwidge Danticat and Katherine Paterson in Podcast Interviews JACBA Newsletter 23Sept2016

Podcast #129: Edwidge Danticat on Silence, Bridging Audiences, and Participating in Stories

Edwidge Danticat is a MacArthur Fellow “Genius Grant” recipient and author, best known for her book Brother, I’m Dying. In 2010, she visited the Library to talk about her essay collection Create Dangerously: The Immigrant Artist at Work. For this week’s episode of the New York Public Library Podcast, we’re proud to present Edwidge Danticat discussing silence, bridging audiences, and participating in stories.

Read More

Mama’s Nightingale: A Story of Immigration and Separation written by Edwidge Danticat, illustrated by Leslie Staub 2016 Awardee

Podcast: Katherine Paterson

Former National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature Katherine Paterson is the newest in our series of National Book Festival author podcasts. Karen Jaffee talks to Paterson about the author’s new memoir, “Stories of My Life.”

The 2016 Library of Congress National Book Festival, which is free for everyone, will be held at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center on Saturday, Sept. 24, from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. Katherine Paterson will appear on the History & Biography stage, sponsored by Wells Fargo, as well as participate in the evening Books to Movies presentation.

Read More

The Same Stuff as Stars by Katherine Paterson 2003 Awardee

The Great Gilly Hopkins by Katherine Paterson 1979 Awardee

The Longlist for the National Book Awards
The contenders include a debut novelist and a previous winner.

The National Book Foundation announced Thursday its longlist of 10 titles in the running for the National Book Award for fiction, which celebrates the best in American literature over the past year.

Jacqueline Woodson, who previously won in the Young People’s Literature category for her 2014 memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, this time longlisted for her novel Another Brooklyn.

The finalists will be revealed October 13, with the winners to be announced at a ceremony in New York on November 16.

Read More

Each Kindness written by Jacqueline Woodson, illustrated by E.B. Lewis 2013 Awardee

From the Notebooks of Melanin Sun by Jacqueline Woodson 1996 Awardee

I Hadn’t Meant to Tell You This by Jacqueline Woodson 1995 Awardee

Black-owned Travel Sites of Today Reflect Black Guidebook of the Past

The founders of the new app Noirbnb note their link to history: a publication known as the Green Book, printed between the years of 1936 and 1966, when travel for African Americans was difficult and unwelcoming in many parts of the United States.

“Many people have said, ‘We had no idea this existed. We kind of wish we had this book today.’ We hear that a lot,” says Becky Wible Searles, an animation professor with the Savannah College of Art and Design’s Atlanta campus. She and author Calvin Alexander Ramsey are working on a documentary film about the guide compiled annually by postal worker Victor Hugo Green until his death in 1960.

Read More

Belle, the Last Mule at Gee’s Bend written by Calvin Alexander Ramsey and Bettye Stroud, illustrated by John Holyfield 2012 Awardee

Ruth and the Green Book by Calvin Alexander Ramsey with Gwen Strauss and illustrated by Floyd Cooper 2011 Awardee

Vietnam: A History of the War by Russell Freedman | SLJ Review

In his customary well-honed prose, Freedman presents a coherent overview of the Vietnam War. Freedman’s account leans toward the view that the carnage resulted from a perfect storm of missed opportunities for alliances or political solutions, misunderstood history and culture, wrongheaded strategic decisions, and mulish pride on the part of U.S. political and military leaders.
Holiday House. Oct. 2016.

Read More

Freedom Walkers, written by Russell Freedman 2007 Awardee

Kids at Work: Lewis Hine and the Crusade Against Child Labor written by Russell Freedman 1995 Awardee

Eleanor Roosevelt: A Life of Discovery written by Russell Freedman 1994 Awardee

World Beyond War 2016 conference

The World Beyond War 2016 conference, sponsored in part through the Jane Addams Peace Association’s Disarmament Fund, is planning a big event in Washington, D.C., in September 2016, just after the International Day of Peace, including a conference on Friday September 23 through Sunday September 25. They are also working with the National Campaign for Nonviolent Resistance (NCNR) which is planning a nonviolent activism training and planning session on the 25th and a nonviolent action in D.C. on Monday morning September 26th, with support from Campaign Nonviolence.

Speakers will include: Dennis Kucinich, Kathy Kelly, Miriam Pemberton, David Vine, Kozue Akibayashi, Harvey Wasserman, Jeff Bachman, Peter Kuznick, Medea Benjamin, Maurice Carney, David Swanson, Leah Bolger, David Hartsough, Pat Elder, John Dear, Mel Duncan, Kimberley Phillips, Ira Helfand, Darakshan Raja, Bill Fletcher Jr., Lindsey German, Maria Santelli, Mark Engler, Maja Groff, Robert Fantina, Barbara Wien, Jodie Evans, Odile Hugonot Haber, Gar Alperovitz, Sam Husseini, Christopher Simpson, Brenna Gautam, Patrick Hiller, Mubarak Awad, Michelle Kwak, John Washburn, Bruce Gagnon, David Cortright, Michael McPhearson, Sharon Tennison, Gareth Porter, John Reuwer, Pat Alviso, Larry Wilkerson, Thomas Drake, Larry Johnson, John Kiriakou, Craig Murray, Raed Jarrar, Alli McCracken, Lilly Daigle, and Alice Slater.
Speakers’ bios and photos: worldbeyondwar.org/nowar2016speakers​​​

World Beyond War is a global nonviolent movement to end war and establish a just and sustainable peace.​​

Join us to learn about and engage in working on viable alternatives to war and militarism.

The next application deadline for the JAPA Disarmament Fund is September 30, 2016.

Learn More and Check Out the Flyer

2016 Ceremony Invitation

Join us for a memorable afternoon of award presentations and responses by authors and illustrators.
Come meet and talk with the honored guests, including Award winners and honorees.
Enjoy a reception and an opportunity for book signing after formal presentation of the awards.
All the award books will be available for purchase. This event is free and open to all.
Reservations are not needed. Please come and enjoy!

Ceremony Invitation: JPG | PDF

Since 1953, the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award annually acknowledges books published in the U.S. during the previous year. Books commended by the Award address themes of topics that engage children in thinking about peace, justice, world community and/or equality of the sexes and all races. The books also must meet conventional standards of literacy and artistic excellence.

A national committee chooses winners and honor books for younger and older children.

Click here to read more about the 2016 Awards.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *