Jane Addams Author Pam Muñoz Ryan Recipient of Américas Award for Children’s and Young Adult Literature JACBA Newsletter 30Sept2016

Award recognizes excellence in children’s books that portray Latin American culture

Two children’s book authors have been awarded the 2016 Américas Award for Children’s and Young Adult Literature, coordinated by Vanderbilt University’s Center for Latin American Studies and Tulane University.

This year’s recipients, Pam Muñoz Ryan, author of Echo, and Ashley Hope-Perez, author of Out of Darkness, were honored Sept. 22 at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.

Award decisions center on four main criteria: distinctive literary quality; how accurately it represents Latin culture; exceptional integration of text, illustration and design; and potential for classroom use.

Read More

Esperanza Rising written by Pam Muñoz Ryan 2001 Awardee

Datebook: ‘Elizabeth Catlett & Benny Andrews’ at Hemphill Fine Arts, Washington D.C

The exhibition presents the paintings of Benny Andrews (1930-2006) and sculptures by Elizabeth Catlett (1915-2012). [B]oth individually asserted the validity of their own lives and the humanity around them, communicating a spiritual dignity that still resonates in today’s world.both individually asserted the validity of their own lives and the humanity around them, communicating a spiritual dignity that still resonates in today’s world.

Read More

Delivering Justice: W. W. Law and the Fight for Civil Rights, written by Jim Haskins, illustrated by Benny Andrews 2006 Awardee

Banned Books Week, a new Deborah Hopkinson book

Oregon author Deborah Hopkinson’s latest book for children focuses on World War II’s Pacific theater.

Sailors and submarines: Oregon children’s author Deborah Hopkinson has a new nonfiction book aimed at elementary and middle schoolers: “Dive! World War II Stories of Sailors & Submarines in the Pacific” (Scholastic Press, 384 pages, $17.99). Hopkinson notes that this December is the 75th anniversary of Japan’s attack on the United States’ Pearl Harbor naval base in Hawaii. The book comes out Sept. 27.

Read More

Girl Wonder: A Baseball Story in Nine Innings by Deborah Hopkinson, illustrated by Terry Wideners, 2004 Awardee

Shutting Out the Sky: Life in the Tenements of New York 1880-1924 by Deborah Hopkinson 2004 Awardee

A Band of Angels: A Story Inspired written by the Jubilee Singers by Deborah Hopkinson, illustrated by Raúl Colón, 2000 Awardee

In Conversation: Meet Children’s Book Author-Illustrator Raúl Colón

This Spanish-language program takes place Friday, September 23 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m. at the Bank Street College Library. The first special guest is two-time Pura Belpré winner Raúl Colón, and the event features Raúl’s books “Draw!,” “Hillary,” “Fearless Flyer: Ruth Law and Her Flying Machine,” and “Solving the Puzzle Under the Sea: Marie Tharp Maps the Ocean Floor.”

Read More

A Band of Angels: A Story Inspired written by the Jubilee Singers by Deborah Hopkinson, illustrated by Raúl Colón, 2000 Awardee

Joliet students learn about life in Africa

Fifth-grade students at Carl Sandburg Elementary School experienced in real life Thursday what they had been reading in a book that talks about life in the Sudan. Students were split into several groups. One group went to get water at a small pool and bring it back, another worked with plants, and another group put towels on their head to balance water.

The activities were part of the students reading “A Long Walk to Water” by Linda Sue Park and learning about Africa as part of their social studies unit.

Read More

A Long Walk to Water: Based on a True Story by Linda Sue Park 2011 Awardee

When My Name Was Keoko by Linda Sue Park 2003 Awardee

Literary stars shine at Brooklyn Book Festival 2016

Jacqueline Woodson, author of more than two dozen books including “Brown Girl Dreaming,” her memoir, was awarded the festival’s Best of Brooklyn (BoBi) Award.

Read More

Each Kindness written by Jacqueline Woodson, illustrated by E.B. Lewis 2013 Awardee

From the Notebooks of Melanin Sun by Jacqueline Woodson 1996 Awardee

I Hadn’t Meant to Tell You This by Jacqueline Woodson 1995 Awardee

Kirkus Prize Finalists Announced

“Thunder Boy Jr.,” a picture book by Alexie and illustrator Yuyi Morales, is a nominee for children’s books announced Tuesday, Sept. 20, 2016, for a Kirkus Prize.

Kirkus, the book industry trade publication, also announced six finalists each for $50,000 prizes in nonfiction and children’s literature. Like the National Book Awards, many of the Kirkus picks have themes of race and social justice.

Winners will be announced Nov. 3.

Read More

Harvesting Hope: The Story of Cesar Chavez, written by Kathleen Krull, illustrated by Yuyi Morales 2004 Awardee

To help Afghan schoolgirls, Seattle children raise funds

Maxime Johnstone was 7 years old when she researched the struggle young girls in Afghanistan face getting an education. To help, the Seattle girl went without birthday presents and instead asked her friends to fundraise.

Now, roughly two years later, Maxime has rallied her friends to keep the effort going, raising money periodically with lemonade stands and other homegrown sales to benefit the Razia’s Ray of Hope Foundation. The nonprofit runs a school outside of Kabul that provides free education for hundreds of Afghan girls.

Read More

Razia’s Ray of Hope: One Girl’s Dream of an Education written by Elizabeth Suneby and illustrated by Suana Verelst 2014 Awardee

Margarita Engle and Susan Tan team up at the 2017 Midwinter Meeting

Award-winning children’s book authors Susan Tan and Margarita Engle will team up on Saturday, January 21st in the Auditorium Speakers Series at the 2017 American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting and Exhibits in Atlanta, Georgia to discuss diversity in children’s books and women authors.

Read More

Silver People: Voices from the Panama Canal by Margarita Engle 2015 Awardee

The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba’s Struggle for Freedom, written by Margarita Engle 2009 Awardee

2016 Ceremony Invitation

Join us for a memorable afternoon of award presentations and responses by authors and illustrators.
Come meet and talk with the honored guests, including Award winners and honorees.
Enjoy a reception and an opportunity for book signing after formal presentation of the awards.
All the award books will be available for purchase. This event is free and open to all.
Reservations are not needed. Please come and enjoy!

Ceremony Invitation: JPG | PDF

Since 1953, the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award annually acknowledges books published in the U.S. during the previous year. Books commended by the Award address themes of topics that engage children in thinking about peace, justice, world community and/or equality of the sexes and all races. The books also must meet conventional standards of literacy and artistic excellence.

A national committee chooses winners and honor books for younger and older children.

Click here to read more about the 2016 Awards.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *