Signup for the Newsletter

Newsletter / February 3, 2019

AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION ANNOUNCES 2019 YOUTH MEDIA AWARD WINNERS   Children’s Literature Legacy Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children’s lives and experiences. The 2019 winner is Walter Dean Myers, whose award-winning works include “Somewhere in the Darkness,” a 1993 Newbery Honor Book, and “Monster,” recipient of a 2000 Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book. READ MORE…   “The Stuff of Stars,” illustrated by Ekua Holmes, is the King Illustrator Book winner. The book is written by Marion Dane Bauer and published by Candlewick Press. READ MORE… 1984 JANE ADDAMS AWARD WINNER Three King Illustrator Honor Books were selected:… “Memphis, Martin, and the Mountaintop,” illustrated by R. Gregory Christie, written by Alice Faye Duncan and published by Calkins Creek, an imprint of Highlights… READ MORE…   Three King Author Honor Books were selected: “Finding Langston,” written by Lesa Cline-Ransome and published by Holiday House; … READ MORE… MEG MEDINA WINS NEWBERY MEDAL AND SOPHIE BLACKALL IS AWARDED HER SECOND CALDECOTT The Pura Belpre Illustrator Award went to Yuyi Morales for “Dreamers,” her picture book recounting the journey she took with her young son…