Finalists/Award Announcement Calendar

Award calendar & Book Submission

Finalists Are Revealed!

Beginning in 2020, Jane Addams Children’s Book Finalists—10 to 12 books in each of the categories of Younger and Older Children—will be announced several months prior to the announcement of winning and honor titles. This will allow for a larger body of books to be recognized and in the future an opportunity for young people to contribute recommendations to the selection committee. In order to accommodate this change, there are shifts in the Award’s calendar year.

Dates of note

November 1, 2020: Beginning of next cycle for submission of books for consideration. This new cycle will go through the end of 2021

April 28, 2021: Jane Addams Children’s Book Award Virtual Ceremony

Author Veera Hiranandani

Submission details

The selection committee currently seeks review copies of potential contenders published between November 1, 2020, and December 31, 2021. Advance and electronic copies are very welcome! For selection committee address information contact: