Selection Committee

The Jane Addams Children’s Book Award titles are carefully selected by a diverse set of activists, educators, parents, and teachers. The selection process strives to be ever more democratic, intersectional, and representative.

2021-22 Jane Addams Children’s Book Award Selection Committee

Chair: Jenice Mateo-Toledo

Hastings-on-Hudson Union Free Public Schools – New York

Jackie Marshall Arnold

University of Dayton– Ohio

Shanetia Clark

Salisbury University – Maryland

Melissa Garcia

Lehman College, City University of New York – New York

Kharissa Kenner

Bank Street School for Children – New York

Nanesha Nunez

Concord Road Elementary, Ardsley – New York

Co-chair: Josefa Bustos Pelayo

Hanford Elementary School District & California State University at Fresno–  California

Ruth E. Quiroa

National Louis University – Illinois

Jade Valenzuela

Albuquerque Academy – New Mexico

Barbara Ward

University of New Orleans – Idaho

Jongsun Wee

Minnesota – Winona State University

Apply to be a member of the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award Selection Committee

The Jane Addams Peace Association seeks selection committee members with diverse perspectives and identities among parents, teachers, librarians, activists, and child advocates, all with knowledge of children’s literature. The committee is comprised of nine to twelve people serving three-year terms. Members read widely throughout the year, communicate via an online platform, and meet virtually bi-monthly.  New applicants are welcome. Send a statement of interest to