Selection Committee

The Jane Addams Children’s Book Award titles are carefully selected by a diverse set of activists, educators, parents, and teachers. The selection process strives to be ever more democratic, intersectional, and representative.


(From Right to Left)

Chair: Andrea O’Brien – Wisconsin – University of Wisconsin Whitewater

Co-chair: Jenice Mateo-Toledo – New York – Hastings-on-Hudson Union Free Public Schools

Melissa Garcia –  New York -Lehman College, City University of New York

Ruth E. Quiroa – Illinois – National Louis University

Josefa Bustos Pelayo –  California – Hanford Elementary School District & California State University at Fresno

Jackie Marshall Arnold – Ohio – University of Dayton

Shanetia Clark – Maryland – Salisbury University

Jade Valenzuela – New Mexico – Albuquerque Academy (not pictured)

Jongsun Wee – Minnesota – Winona State University (not pictured)

The Jane Addams Peace Association seeks selection committee members with diverse perspectives and identities among parents, teachers, librarians, activists, and child advocates, all with knowledge of children’s literature. The committee is comprised of nine to twelve people serving three-year terms. Members read widely throughout the year, communicate via an online platform, and meet virtually bi-monthly.  New applicants are welcome. Send a statement of interest to